Live performance/installation
7” lathe-cut record

Long-distance collaboration with Australian pianist Nathan Liow.

Image #1: West Space Gallery (exhibition)
Melbourne, VIC. Australia. 2014.

Image #2 and audio: Artifacts (1-3, 4-5)
7” lathe-cut record, In Context Music, 2014.

A slowly evolving feedback conversation is created through a live acoustic piano performance in Australia that is broadcast immediately to North America, processed remotely, returned to the source, amplified through speakers, and finally, mixed with the existing performance in real time. Within this process, inaudible sounds of data transfer become apparent, while distortion begins to erode and decay what is heard. The Internet itself leaves a unique signature.

Premiered at the Melbourne Next Wave Festival as part of Can We Please Play the Internet?, a group exhibition curated by Rosemary Willink.